Oregon University System logoApril 12, 2000


A regular meeting of the State Board of Higher Education will be held on Friday, April 21, 2000. Prior to this meeting, the Board's Budget and Finance and System Strategic Planning Committees will convene. All meetings will take place in accordance with the times, locations, and schedules listed below:

Friday, April 21, 2000
8-9:45 a.m. Budget and Finance Committee
Rooms 327/8/9, Smith Memorial Center
Portland State University

The Committee is slated to review several proposals including a new student residence hall at OSU, incidental fee guidelines at UO, the National Zebrafish Stock Center at UO, an Oregon Institute of Marine Biology land exchange at UO, and library renaming at WOU. An update on the OSU Athletic Department is also planned.

8-9 a.m. System Strategic Planning Committee
Room 238 (Browsing Lounge), Smith Memorial Center
Portland State University

The purpose of the meeting is to consider a new Board policy on guidelines for external review of graduate programs, an honorary degree that PSU wishes to award, and several new program proposals. The Committee intends to join the Budget and Finance Committee at approximately 9 a.m. for a biennial budget planning session.

10 a.m.-1 p.m. Board meeting (a working lunch for Board members will be served)
Rooms 327/8/9, Smith Memorial Center
Portland State University

On Thursday, April 20, several Board members will participate in a campus visitation, which is hosted by Portland State University. The visitation includes an open forum from 2:45-3:30 p.m. in Smith Memorial Center, Room 338 (Vanport), to which faculty, staff, and students are encouraged to attend. A reception and dinner for Board members will begin at 6:30 p.m. at the home of President Bernstine.

Telephone messages for Board members and institution officials attending the meetings may be called to Portland State University at (503) 725-4442. If special accommodations are required, please contact the Board's office 72 hours in advance.


Diane Vines
Secretary of the Board