Joint Boards Articulation Commission

Meeting Summary Notes
June 2, 1999
Conference Call

Members Present

Martha Anne Dow, Chair, Oregon Institute of Technology
Janine Allen, Portland State University
Roy Arnold, Oregon State University
Jim Buch, University of Oregon
Judy Patterson, Oregon Department of Education
Dave Phillips, Clatsop Community College
Mark Wahlers, Concordia College
Elaine Yandle-Roth, Office of Community College Services

Chair Martha Anne Dow called the meeting to order at 11:05 a.m.

1. Summary Notes of May 5, 1999

The summary notes of the May 5, 1999, meeting were approved as submitted.

2. Reports from Recent Council of Instructional Administrators and Academic Council Meetings

Dave Phillips and Roy Arnold reported on their organic chemistry discussions with the Council of Instructional Administrators (CIA) and Academic Council. The final version of the transfer policy reflecting the changes suggested at both meetings -- and ultimately adopted by the Academic Council -- can be found on the JBAC web site (

Phillips met with the CIA on May 14th, noting that the proposed guidelines for the transfer of organic chemistry courses had been distributed to the Chief Academic Officers (a sub-group of the full Council) with the request that they meet with their chemistry faculty to review it. One concern voiced was that the policy requires a community college to score at the 50th percentile on a standardized exam. How the 50th percentile was selected, and if OUS requires the same of their students, were unanswered questions.

Arnold noted that the recommendation was not controversial when presented to the OUS Academic Council on May 20th. Bruce Shepard, provost at Eastern Oregon University, suggested wording which allows OUS institutions to exempt students from taking the national exam or to have other, separate OUS-community college agreements.

Members agreed that this final version is to be Joint Boards Articulation Commission policy and that it be placed into effect at colleges/universities as soon as possible. Jim Arnold will be responsible for implementation and monitoring. Martha Anne Dow will send a letter and a copy of the policy to all provosts and chief academic officers after getting Shirley Clark's endorsement.

Other items from those two meetings included the CIA interest in convening faculty groups. Science was specifically noted and Phillips will be responsible for finding out who currently chairs the community college science group and details of their early September meeting. R. Arnold will write a letter to the Academic Council to enlist their support. The intent is to use the fall meeting to begin the combined faculty process of determining the outcomes of lower-division science instruction.

3. Credit for Prior Learning

The final Credit for Prior Learning Action Team report will be sent to all JBAC members and will be on the agenda for the September meeting. The Northwest Association of Schools and Colleges will be discussing the issue at its June meeting.

4. JBAC Work Plan

A year-end review of the JBAC Work Plan resulted in the following:

Suggestions for the 98-99 JBAC Annual Report:

Suggestions for the 99-00 JBAC Work Plan

5. JBAC Membership

The JBAC membership will experience a great deal of change this year. Martha Anne Dow, Janine Allen, Jim Buch, Pat Loughary, and Judy Patterson will all be going off the Commission next month. Loughary will be replaced by Craig Bell from Portland Community College. Dave Phillips has agreed to stay on for one more term. Judy Patterson will talk with Superintendent Bunn about a replacement for her position and for the district superintendent position.

Dow noted the Joint Boards of Education meeting discussion of the regional partnership efforts.

Appreciation was expressed for all those who are going off the commission and the work they have done. Dow's leadership was specially noted.

6. Adjournment and Next Meeting

The meeting was adjourned at 11:00 a.m.

The next meeting is scheduled for September 1, 1999, from 10:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. A location has not yet been selected.

Prepared by Elaine Yandle-Roth
Office of Community College Services
June 4, 1999