Contact: Di Saunders, OUS communications director: 971-219-6869;

New Board chair and vice-chair also nominated for 2014-15 by Governance & Policy Committee

PORTLAND, May 16, 2014 – The State Board of Higher Education (the “Board” and OSBHE) today gave initial approval to 2014-15 tuition rates, which are effective this coming Fall. The rates, which include a “freeze” on tuition for resident Oregonian undergraduates, will receive final approval by the full Board on June 6.

Dr. Jay Kenton, OUS vice chancellor of Finance & Administration, and Trina McGaughy, OUS senior fiscal analyst, summarized the proposed tuition rates for the 2014-15 academic year.  Ms. McGaughy noted that the Legislature and the Governor worked during the 2013 Session and the Special Session last fall to provide $40 million in additional state funding in order to reduce tuition increases for 2013-14, and in the case of 2014-15 tuition, to freeze resident undergraduate tuition at 2013-14 rates. The last time there was a tuition freeze in the Oregon University System was in 2001.


Proposed Base Tuition and Fee Rates for 2014-15 Academic Year

Annual Rates for RESIDENT UNDERGRADUATE Students at 15 Credit Hours Per Term

Oregon Public University

Tuition Only

Tuition & Mandatory Fees[2]

Proposed 2014-15 Tuition

2013-14 Tuition[1]

$ Increase (decrease) over

% change over

Proposed 2014-15 Tuition & Fees

2013-14 Tuition[1] & Fees

$ Increase (decrease) over

% change over










OIT-Klamath Falls



























WOU Base









WOU Promise






















































Unweighted Avg.









[1] 2013-14 annual rate is based on each distinct term (Fall, Winter, Spring).  There was a decrease in the UG Resident rates between Fall and Winter terms.  2014-15 rate changes were based on Spring 2014 rates.

[2] Mandatory Enrollment Fees include Building, Incidental, Health Services, and Recreation Center/Student Union fees, most of which are recommended by student organizations and/or approved by student referendums.

[3] OSU has been maintaining a tuition plateau from 12 to 16 credit hours.  2014-15 is the second year of a three year phase out of the plateau.  The 12% increase is reflective of this year's reduction to the plateau discount.  The actual base per credit hour rate increase for 2014-15 is 0%.

Oregon State University, Portland State University, and the University of Oregon institutional boards reviewed and endorsed their proposals for tuition and fee rates for the public universities to be in effect July 1, 2014. Starting next year those boards will be approving their own rates going forward if these rates are at or below 5%; rates above this must be approved by the Higher Education Coordinating Commission. The rates for the technical and regional universities – Eastern Oregon University, Oregon Tech, Southern Oregon University, and Western Oregon University – will be approved by the OSBHE this year and next; and their institutional boards, which commence on July 1, 2015, will approve rates going forward from that date.

Other action at the Finance and Committee Meeting today included:  Accepting the March 31, 2014 Quarterly Management Report; accepting the March 31, 2014 Risk Fund Report for FY’14 summarizing associated risk management and financial activities; accepting the OUS investment report for the third quarter of FY2014; and hearing an update from EOU on their Sustainability Plan. 

Governance & Policy Committee     The Board’s Governance & Policy Committee also met today, and voted to nominate new Board officers, effective July 1, 2014. Dr. James Middleton was nominated as chair of the OSBHE; and David Yaden was nominated in as vice-chair. The full Board will vote on the nominations on June 6 at their next meeting.  In discussing the work and continued meetings of the Board committees, members discussed discontinuing meetings of the committees after June 2014 given that the work of those committees will primarily be routine, and that there will be very few Chancellor’s Office staff available to support the committees; but keeping the committees in case there is a need for one or more of them to meet.

Charles Triplett, board secretary, summarized a list of members of the current Board who will be continuing after June 2014. He noted that Directors James Francesconi, Brittany Kenison, Dr. Emily Plec, and David Yaden will continue through June 30, 2015; and Directors Jill Eiland, Orcilia Forbes and Paul Kelly will continue through Fall 2014 until additional members can be appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate. Three new members were appointed by the Governor earlier this month and are awaiting Senate confirmation: David Nelson of Pendleton; Adam Washington of Portland; and Lisa Graham of Bend. These appointed members will begin as soon as the confirmations are approved. Once confirmed, the Chancellor’s Office will be issuing a release with more information on these new members.

The Oregon University System (OUS) makes college a reality for Oregonians statewide by keeping higher education accessible, affordable and high quality. We integrate Oregon’s public universities with the entire PreK-20 education system to ensure student success. OUS’ higher education offerings meet the needs of Oregon’s economy today and in the future, contributing to the vitality of the state and the success of more than 20,000 graduates a year. For additional information, go to