December 20, 2002

Contact: Diane Saunders, 503-725-5714; Cell: 503-807-5539

OSU Presidential Search Committee Named

PORTLAND - A 15-member search and screening committee has been named to help select the new president for Oregon State University.

Chairing the committee is Kerry Barnett, a member of the Oregon State Board of Higher Education and vice president of professional services for ODS Health Plans. Board members Leslie Lehmann of Portland, executive director of Oregon Forest Resources Institute, and Phyllis Wustenberg of Bay City are the other two Board member representatives.

Other members include Larry Roper, vice provost for student affairs at Oregon State University (OSU); Tammy Bray, dean of the College of Health and Human Sciences at OSU; Angelo Gomez, director of the Office of Affirmative Action and Equal Opportunity at OSU; Fred Obermiller, professor of Agriculture and Resource Economics at OSU; Nancy Rosenberger, professor of Anthropology at OSU; Ken Williamson, professor and chair of Civil, Construction & Environmental Engineering at OSU; Edie Blakley, assistant to the director of Career Services at OSU; and Deborah Dombrowski, library technician at Valley Library at OSU.

Also nominated to serve on the Search Committee are Bridget Burns, president of Associated Students, OSU; Ruth Ann Dodson, OSU Foundation trustee and former vice president of the Portland Metropolitan Chamber of Commerce (now called the Portland Business Alliance); Duane McDougall, president of the OSU Foundation and former CEO of Willamette Industries; and Jim Johnson, member of the OSU Board of Advisors and retired Oregon Site Manager and Vice President of Intel.

The committee will begin its work immediately and aims to identify and begin interviewing finalists over the next several months.

Current President Paul Risser is leaving OSU to accept a position as chancellor of the Oklahoma State System of Higher Education beginning January 6. Interim OSU President Timothy White's appointment was confirmed today by the Oregon State Board of Higher Education, effective December 21.

The Oregon University System (OUS) comprises seven distinguished public universities, reaching more than one million people each year through on-campus classes, statewide public services and lifelong learning. The Oregon State Board of Higher Education, the statutory governing board of the seven-campus Oregon University System, is composed of eleven members appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Oregon State Senate.

For additional information on OUS and the State Board of Higher Education, go to

     [ HOME ]    [ SEARCH ]    [ INDEX ]    [ CONTACTS ]    
© Oregon University System, 2000