June 1, 2000

Contact: Bob Bruce, Oregon University System, 503-725-5714
Katy Coba, Governor's Office, 503-378-3123

PSU Student Nominated for State Board of Higher Education

SALEM - Tim Young of Tualatin, the student body president at Portland State University, has been Tim Youngnominated for a student-member vacancy on the State Board of Higher Education.

Governor John Kitzhaber recently announced Young's nomination along with his recommendation to reappoint existing members Don VanLuvanee, Portland, Dr. Geraldine Richmond, Eugene, and Phyllis Wustenberg, Bay City. 

VanLuvannee is president and CEO of Electro Scientific Industries, Inc., and a leader in the state's high technology industry. Richmond is a professor of chemistry at the University of Oregon and the first full-time faculty member ever to serve on the Board. Wustenberg is retired from a 40-year career in farming and teaching. 

Subject to confirmation by the Oregon Senate, all are expected to begin appointments in July. Young will fill a two-year term through June 30, 2002. VanLuvanee, Richmond and Wustenberg will serve four-year terms expiring in 2004.

The new student-member nominee will replace David Koch of Eugene. Young is a PSU junior studying business and political science. A 1997 graduate of Lakeridge High School, Lake Oswego, he won the student body presidency at PSU in a record breaking turnout as a write-in candidate. He has served as both chair and vice chair of PSU's Student Fee Committee and on the board of directors of the Oregon Student Association. He also has been active with the United States Students Association.

The other nominees are currently completing first terms on the Board. VanLuvanee and Richmond have filled unexpired terms since 1998 and 1999 respectively. Wustenberg has served since 1996.

The State Board of Higher Education serves as the governing board of the Oregon University System. OUS campuses include Eastern Oregon University, La Grande; Oregon Institute of Technology, Klamath Falls; Oregon State University, Corvallis; Portland State University; Southern Oregon University, Ashland; the University of Oregon, Eugene; and Western Oregon University, Monmouth.

     [ HOME ]    [ SEARCH ]    [ INDEX ]    [ CONTACTS ]    
© Oregon University System, 2000