Contacts:   Contact: Di Saunders -- Cell: 503-807-5539; Office: 503-725-5714


Board of Higher Ed Announces Search Committee for EOU President  


PORTLAND, April 23 - The State Board of Higher Education (the "Board") today announced the Search Committee for the Eastern Oregon University president.


The Search Committee will be chaired by Oregon State Board of Higher Education (OSBHE) member Roger Bassett, who is joined by two other OSBHE members, Tom Imeson and Jim Lussier, who is also the Board chair.


From EOU, faculty Search Committee members include: Ruth Davenport (Education); Charles Lyons (Psychology); Jeff Vermeer (Accounting); Sarah Witte (English/Writing). The EOU student search committee member is Scott Pugrud; the EOU Administrator committee member is Anne Patterson (Dean, Arts/Sciences); the EOU unclassified staff member on the committee is Marie Hall (Distance Education, Pendleton); and the EOU classified staff member on the search committee is Jody Potter (Database Analyst).


Representing the community on the EOU Search Committee is John Lamoreau (County Commissioner); representing alumni is Gail McAllister (former OSBHE member); and representative at large is David Thouvenel, Publisher of the La Grande Observer.

Until a new president is selected, Dr. Dixie Lund has been appointed by the OSBHE as interim president of EOU beginning on June 1. Lund has been dean in EOU's Division of Distance Education since 1994, and has held several other positions at EOU since 1973. Lund succeeds Dr. Philip Creighton, who is leaving EOU to accept the presidency at Pacific University in Forest Grove, Oregon, beginning on August 1.

The Committee will begin their work in seeking a new president immediately, with a goal of appointing a new president by early next year.

Oregon University System (OUS) comprises seven distinguished public universities, reaching more than one million people each year through on-campus classes, statewide public services and lifelong learning. The Oregon State Board of Higher Education, the statutory governing board of OUS, is composed of eleven members appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Oregon State Senate. For additional information, 

go to 



Eastern Oregon University | Oregon Institute of Technology | Oregon State University | Portland State University

Southern Oregon University | University of Oregon | Western Oregon University | Oregon Health & Science University - Affiliated


     [ HOME ]    [ SEARCH ]    [ INDEX ]    [ CONTACTS ]    
© Oregon University System, 2000