February 12, 2002

Contact: Bob Bruce, 503-725-5700
Source: Diane Vines, 507-725-5700

WOU Search Committee Named

EUGENE - A 16-member search and screening committee has been named to help select the new president for Western Oregon University.

Roger Bassett, a member of the Oregon State Board of Higher Education and former Oregon community college commissioner, will chair the committee. Board members Geri Richmond of Eugene and Kerry Barnett of Portland also will serve on the committee, while Phyllis Wustenberg of Bay City, a member of the Board's Executive Committee, will serve as an ex-officio member.

Other members include Diane Baxter, WOU professor of music; Forrest Bell, superintendent of Central School District; Meredith Brodsky, WOU dean of education; Brian Caster, WOU associate professor of health & physical education; Ron DeVolder, alumni representative; Ryan Gleysteen, WOU senior.

And Anna Hernandez, director of WOU's Multicultural Student Services; Mary Anne Linden, WOU assistant professor of special education; Darin Silbernagel, WOU vice president for business and finance; Ed Stineff, past chair of the WOU Foundation Board and local businessman; Robert Turner, WOU associate professor of biology; and Galen Wish, WOU physical plant technician.

The committee will begin its work immediately and aims to identify and interview finalists by the end of May.

Current WOU President Betty Youngblood will leave the position this summer to take a new presidency in Michigan.

     [ HOME ]    [ SEARCH ]    [ INDEX ]    [ CONTACTS ]    
© Oregon University System, 2000