January 28, 2001

Contact: Bob Bruce, 503-725-5700

Governor Appoints Council for Knowledge/Economic Development

SALEM -- Governor John Kitzhaber today appointed 10 state educational and industry leaders to serve as the first members of the new Oregon Council for Knowledge and Economic Development (OCKED).

The council, established by the 2001 Legislature under Senate Bill 273, will coordinate efforts to stimulate economic development in Oregon by working with the leaders in higher education, economic development and the private sector. OCKED provide agencies and state officials with "early warning" guidance on emerging policy issues and opportunities for creating new knowledge-based initiatives.

"The Council will provide thoughtful and consistent leadership for new statewide knowledge initiatives," Governor Kitzhaber said in announcing its formation. "It will stimulate needed, ongoing and closer collaboration between state agencies and the private sector to assure that all of our best efforts, ideas and resources go into supporting Oregon's economic development.

"It will help us track our success in improving technology transfer and the commercialization of new ideas, and it will assist us in developing appropriate public policy that will be crucial to Oregon's future growth and competitiveness.

Allen Alley, president, chief executive officer and chairman of the board of Pixelworks, a Portland area high technology company, will chair the council. Others appointed by the Governor include:

  • State Treasurer Randall Edwards;
  • C. Scott Gibson, chairman of Gibson Enterprises, Portland, and former co-founder of Sequent Computer Systems, representing the Oregon Health and Sciences University board;
  • Tom Imeson, principal in Goldschmidt Imeson, Portland consulting company; representing the State Board of Higher Education;
  • Jill Kirk, partner in Lindberg/Kirk/Millar, Portland, and former executive director of the Tektronix Foundation, representing the State Board of Education;
  • Dwight Sangrey, trustee at Pacific University and former president of Oregon Graduate Institute, representing independent colleges;
  • Carl Talton, vice president, community and business development, Portland General Electric, representing the Oregon Economic and Community Development Commission;
  • Anne Bunnenberg, president and sales manager of Electrical Geodesics Inc., Eugene;
  • Jim Johnson, retired Portland-area site manager for Intel;
  • C. Frost Lee, founder and chief executive officer of In-Med, Bend.

Four members of the Oregon Legislature also will serve on the council. State senators Tom Hartung (R-Portland) and Ryan Deckert (D-Beaverton) have been appointed by Senate President Gene Derfler and representatives Tom Butler (R-Ontario) and Al King (D-Springfield) have been named by Speaker Mark Simmons.

All members will serve a three-year term. The new council will meet at least quarterly and will be staffed by the Oregon University System.

OUS Chancellor Joe Cox; Cam Preus-Braly, Oregon community college commissioner; Don VanLuvanee, higher ed board president; Brett Wilcox, OECDC chair; and Jim Berchtold, president of the Oregon Independent College Foundation, will serve as ex-officio members.

     [ HOME ]    [ SEARCH ]    [ INDEX ]    [ CONTACTS ]    
© Oregon University System, 2000