Oregon University System

Oregon University System Logo



Statement from George Pernsteiner on Ms. Heiligman

Contact Di Saunders, Office: 503-725-5714; Cell: 971-219-6869

Statement from George Pernsteiner, Chancellor, Oregon University System:

Nancy Heiligman was a creative, dedicated professional, trusted and supportive colleague, and great friend to all of us in the Oregon University System. Her contributions to higher education in Oregon helped advance the state’s goals to increase educational attainment, and to support students and the campus communities over many years.  She worked tirelessly on behalf of Oregon students throughout her career at the Eugene public schools, as an instructor at the University of Oregon, at the chancellor’s office, and at Oregon State University.

During her years in the Chancellor’s Office, Nancy’s depth of knowledge of the OUS budget made her an invaluable resource for the Chancellor, the Board of Higher Education, her finance colleagues on the campuses, and the state agencies she worked with closely on the budget, including DAS and the Legislative Fiscal Office.

Nancy was a serious professional, but she was always quick to share a laugh with a colleague and relate stories about her family. Her biggest smiles broke when she shared stories about her children, trying not to blatantly brag about their accomplishments, but unable to keep the pride out of her voice and the brightness out of her eyes. We remember Nancy’s great laugh which she shared easily, and which broke many a tense moment during years of budget challenges.  We miss her.

I know you join me in extending our sympathy and condolences to Nancy’s family. Our thoughts and prayers are with them, and with the many friends she leaves behind who have been touched by her enduring friendship.

Oregon University System (OUS) comprises seven distinguished public universities and one branch campus, reaching more than one million people each year through on-campus classes, statewide public services, and lifelong learning. The Oregon State Board of Higher Education, the statutory governing board of OUS, is composed of twelve members appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Oregon State Senate. For additional information, go to www.ous.edu.

- OUS -
Eastern Oregon University | Oregon Institute of Technology | Oregon State University | Portland State University
Southern Oregon University | University of Oregon | Western Oregon University | Oregon Health & Science University - Affiliated