Oregon University System

Oregon University System Logo



Chancellor Announces Search Committee for University of Oregon President

Di Saunders –Cell: 971-219-6869 (today, Friday, and over weekend); Office: 503-725-5714

PORTLAND, June 6, 2008 – George Pernsteiner, chancellor of the Oregon University System, today announced the Search Committee for the next president of the University of Oregon. The new president will replace current president Dave Frohnmayer who has led the UO for the last fourteen years. Frohnmayer announced his retirement earlier this year, which will be effective in the summer of 2009.

The Search Committee will be chaired and by State Board of Higher Education member John von Schlegell of Portland. Board member Kirby Dyess of Beaverton will serve as vice-chair.

Search Committee members will include the following representatives from UO’s many constituent groups, including: Willie Blasher, Jr., president-elect, UO Alumni Association Board of Directors; Tim Boyle, president and CEO, Columbia Sportswear; Suzanne Clark, UO professor of English; Sam Dotters-Katz, president, Associated Students of the University of Oregon; Corey du Browa, president, UO Alumni Association Board of Directors; Scott Gibson, chairman, Gibson Enterprises; Dan Giustina, managing partner, Giustina Resources; Timothy Gleason, dean, UO School of Journalism and Communication; Robin Holmes, UO vice president for Student Affairs; Dave Johnson, former CEO, KinderCare Learning Centers, Inc.; Gwen Lillis, president, UO Foundation Board of Trustees; Michael Moffitt, UO professor and associate dean of Law; Ed Ray, president, Oregon State University; Max Rayneard, UO doctoral student in Comparative Literature; Geri Richmond, UO professor of Chemistry; George Russell, superintendent, Eugene 4J School District; Sandy Schoonover, UO director of Residence Life, University Housing; Brad Shelton, UO professor of Mathematics; Mary Spilde, president, Lane Community College; Cory Streisinger, director, Department of Consumer and Business Services; Mia Tuan, UO associate professor of Education; Paul von Donkelaar, UO associate professor of Human Physiology, and president, University Senate; and Lois Yoshishige, UO student loans representative, Office of Business Affairs. Search Committee staff contacts are Susan Weeks, OUS vice chancellor for Strategic Programs and Planning; and Tim Black, UO Public & Government Affairs.

The Committee will begin its search process for a new president immediately, working with a national search firm. Chancellor Pernsteiner expects that the new president of UO will be selected and ratified by the Board of Higher Education in spring 2009. The chancellor has already begun meeting with members of the UO community, faculty, and students to identify the qualities, qualifications and characteristics needed in the next president, and will hold additional meetings later this year.

John von Schlegell said, “This Committee represents the strengths and diversity of the university system as well as the state of Oregon. We know we have big shoes to fill and we’re excited about beginning this process and meeting our critical role of finding another strong, visionary leader to continue the excellent work achieved during president Frohnmayer’s tenure. The appointment of the next UO president is one of the most important decisions this Board will make. We are not only looking for a leader of the university, but also a leader in the state.”

The Oregon State Board of Higher Education, the statutory governing board of OUS, is composed of twelve members appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Oregon State Senate. For additional information, go to www.ous.edu

Oregon University System comprises seven distinguished public universities, reaching more than one million people each year through on-campus classes, statewide public services and lifelong learning. For additional information, go to www.ous.edu

- OUS -
Eastern Oregon University | Oregon Institute of Technology | Oregon State University | Portland State University
Southern Oregon University | University of Oregon | Western Oregon University | Oregon Health & Science University - Affiliated